Padma Vibhushan Awards 2023 Winners List

Padma Vibhushan Awards 2023 Winner List : Check All Padma Winners

The Padma Vibhushan is One of the Highest Civilian Awards bestowed by the Government of India to Recognize Exceptional Contributions in Various Fields. Established in 1954 ,the Padma Vibhushan is Awarded for Distinguished Service in any Field ,Including art ,Literature ,Science ,Public affairs ,social work ,and sports. It is an honor that Highlights the Significant Impact and Achievements of Individuals who have made Outstanding Contributions to the Nation. The Padma Vibhushan awards reflect India’s Recognition of Exceptional talent ,dedication ,and Service in various Domains ,and they serve as a symbol of National Pride and Gratitude.

NameState / CountryField
1. Shri Srinivas VaradhanUSAScience & Engineering
2. Shri Dilip Mahalanabis (Posthumous)West BengalMedicine
3. Shri S M KrishnaKarnatakaPublic Affairs 
4. Shri Zakir HussainMaharashtraArt
5.  Mulayam Singh Yadav(Posthumous)Uttar PradeshPublic Affairs
6. Shri Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous)GujaratOthers

Shri Zakir Hussain

For his extraordinary contribution to the spread of this musical instrument ,the renowned tabla musician has been given the Padma Vibhushan ,India’s second-highest civilian Decoration. Prior to it ,he received the Padma Bhushan in 2002 and the Padma Shri in 1988. In 1990 ,the Sangeet Natak Academy ,India’s National Academy of Music, Dance, and Drama ,Presented him with the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award as well. He received the Highest honour offered to Traditional artists and musicians in 1999—the National Heritage Fellowship—from the National Endowment for the Arts of the United States.

Shri S M Krishna

Sudha Murthy is awarded Padma Bhushan for her contribution in the field of social work. She was already awarded the Padma Shri – India’s fourth highest civilian award – in 2006 for her contribution in the same field.

Former Karnataka CM SM Krishna, on Wednesday received the Padma Vibhushan at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi for his contribution in the field of Public Affairs.

SM Krishna has served in various positions including as the chief minister of Karnataka, deputy chief minister, union minister, governor and speaker of the legislative assembly. He recently announced his retirement from active politics. A post in the official Twitter handle of the President of India read, “President Droupadi Murmu presents Padma Vibhushan to Shri S.M. Krishna for Public Affairs. He is a former External Affairs Minister and former Chief Minister of Karnataka known for his statesman-like vision and administrative acumen during a career spanning more than six decades.”

Shri Srinivasa Varadhan

Indian American mathematician S R Srinivasa Varadhan, widely recognized as one of the most influential mathematicians of the 20th century, has been awarded the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civil honor.

Known for his fundamental contributions to probability theory, Madras born Varadhan is one of the six awarded the honor for “exceptional and distinguished service” on India’s Republic Day.

Shri Dilip Mahalanabis 

Dilip Mahalanabis, who pioneered the use of ORS, will be given the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second-highest civilian award. On the eve of the 74th Republic Day, the Centre said in a statement that Mahalanabis’ efforts led to widespread use of the oral rehydration system, or ORS, which is estimated to have saved over five crore lives globally.

The Central government said Dilip Mahalanabis demonstrated the effectiveness of ORS while serving in refugee camps during the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation War.

Notably, Dilip Mahalanabis, 87, a resident of West Bengal, is among 26 other Padma award recipients whose names have been announced on Wednesday evening.


The Padma Vibhushan awards hold Immense Prestige and honor in India ,Celebrating individuals who have excelled in their respective fields and made Extraordinary Contributions to society. The recipients of this prestigious award Inspire and motivate others ,serving as role models for Generations to come. Through their exceptional work and dedication ,they have left an indelible mark on the Nation’s cultural ,scientific ,and social landscape ,Embodying the highest ideals of achievement and Service.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *